The School of Performing Arts which used to be known as the School of Music and Drama was established in October, 1962 as a section in the Institute of African Studies.


The School at this time was made up of two units, Music and Drama which evolved into the Department of Drama and Theatre Studies in 1972. The School was first headed by Prof. J.H. Nketia and then Dr. Ephraim Amu. The following individuals also served as heads of the School: Prof. A.M. Opoku, Prof. Atta Annan Mensah, Dr. N.Z. Nayo, Mr. Ben Akosa Anning, Prof. Joe de Graft (for a short period), Dr. A.A.R. Turkson (acting), Mrs. Sophia D. Lokko(acting), Mr. Sandy Arkhurst(acting), Prof. Kofi Anyidoho, Prof. Martin Owusu(acting), Prof. William Oscar Anku(substantive),  Dr. Awo Mana Asiedu and currently Prof. Kofi Agyekum

In the year 1977, the School changed its name to School of Performing Arts but was still under African Studies till October, 1978 when it became autonomous.